Waves of work - a slump in business for the time being - has anyone else experienced this?
Téma indítója: Brandon Wood
Brandon Wood
Brandon Wood  Identity Verified
Japán
Local time: 06:15
japán - angol
+ ...
Aug 2, 2007

Hey everybody, how goes it?

I have a question for everyone out there who has been in the business longer than myself. From what I have read, everyone seems to say that the beginning is the hardest, but everyone seems to see somewhat constant growth from there. I have been translating as a freelancer part-time since around 2005, and started full time in March of this year (2007). The first couple of months were actually great, I landed some big contracts and established a couple of r
... See more
Hey everybody, how goes it?

I have a question for everyone out there who has been in the business longer than myself. From what I have read, everyone seems to say that the beginning is the hardest, but everyone seems to see somewhat constant growth from there. I have been translating as a freelancer part-time since around 2005, and started full time in March of this year (2007). The first couple of months were actually great, I landed some big contracts and established a couple of regular clients (agencies). Everything was good through July, I was getting steady work, until maybe the last week and a half of July until now. I haven't gotten any e-mails from any of my regular clients (about 5 or 6 agencies) regarding any potential work. I haven't heard any negative comments from them, except for one pamphlet I translated that the client didn't like (which wasn't really my fault, they were correcting my native English grammar by changing it to awkward Japanese English grammar). The rest of my work all received positive responses.