Thread poster: Suzy Pays
Suzy Pays
Suzy Pays
Cyprus
Local time: 14:43
Dutch to French
+ ...
Oct 30, 2017

Hello everybody, I am new to Proz.com but I have noticed that one company seems to scam us.
I do not want to name it in Public (can do in private) but they are looking for lots of translators, make you complete an easy test and say you failed it (I believe they use the translation you made for their clients and as it is a test they do not need to pay the freelance translator?). I might be wrong, but this is a suspicion.
Looking forward to hearing your comments..

Katarzyna Slowikova
Katarzyna Slowikova  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 13:43
English to Czech
+ ...
What are the grounds for your suspicion? Oct 30, 2017

see above

Suzy Pays
Suzy Pays
Cyprus
Local time: 14:43
Dutch to French
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
English to French translations Oct 30, 2017

hi, well their replies look like ''tickets'', I mean ''prepared answers'' and they said i failed because the client wanted someone with experience in finance (which I have), after I completed the test.

I can show you the emails I received from them so that you can understand what I mean.

Regards,

Suzanne

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 12:43
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Well... Oct 30, 2017

I’ve heard of that cunning behavior and read about it, but I have never seen any concrete proof or first-hand testimony. Anyway, that’s why when I’m asked to do a free test I always state that I will be more than happy to do it under the condition that it will not be used for any project work, unless it has been paid for in full.

Kevin Fulton
Kevin Fulton  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 07:43
German to English
Unprofessional / inept behavior Oct 30, 2017