Manga translation rates (again)
Thread poster: KoiMaxx
KoiMaxx
KoiMaxx
Local time: 18:08
Feb 1, 2010

Hi everyone,

First off, I'd like to say that I'm really very new at this, and I know this topic has been talked about several times already, but those threads were a few months to a couple of years old and I was hoping to get an update.

I did a project for translating manga from Japanese to English recently and I was curious to know how much is a decent rate for translation. Does the rate include typesetting and layouting (i.e. having to select an appropriate font for t
... See more
Hi everyone,

First off, I'd like to say that I'm really very new at this, and I know this topic has been talked about several times already, but those threads were a few months to a couple of years old and I was hoping to get an update.

I did a project for translating manga from Japanese to English recently and I was curious to know how much is a decent rate for translation. Does the rate include typesetting and layouting (i.e. having to select an appropriate font for the dialogue and trying to fit it in the balloons) or is there additional for doing that?

I had done around 29 pages for 2175yen (comes out 75yen/page) and it took me almost a week after hours doing it. Personally I think it's very low considering what I had to do. I'd like to know what everyone else thinks.

Thanks.

宜しく御願い致します。

[Edited at 2010-02-01 01:13 GMT]
Collapse

Alex Farrell (X)
Alex Farrell (X)  Identity Verified
Japan
Local time: 08:08
Japanese to English
You should get paid more Feb 1, 2010