Thread poster: Virginie Crest-Ekhaugen
Virginie Crest-Ekhaugen
Virginie Crest-Ekhaugen
Norway
Local time: 00:42
English to French
+ ...
Oct 17, 2006

As a freelance translator, I am using Trados or SDLX.
I am considering being certified SDL Trados and therefore taking the lectures and exam.
I would like to have your opinions on that matter.
Does it have an impact on your translation business whether you are certified SDL Trados?
Thanks in advance

Alison Schwitzgebel
Alison Schwitzgebel
France
German to English
+ ...
I can't see it really impacting my business Oct 17, 2006

Hi there!

I can't tell you whether it will impact your business or not - that is something you will have to decide for yourself.

I use Trados for almost all of the work that I do - which in turn is almost all for direct customers (very few agencies).

As far as I can tell, SDL Trados certification gets you a special profile page in the SDL Trados translator directory. What kind of customers look for translators in that directory? Are they the kind of custo
... See more
Hi there!

I can't tell you whether it will impact your business or not - that is something you will have to decide for yourself.

I use Trados for almost all of the work that I do - which in turn is almost all for direct customers (very few agencies).

As far as I can tell, SDL Trados certification gets you a special profile page in the SDL Trados translator directory. What kind of customers look for translators in that directory? Are they the kind of customers you want to have? Will you be able to market the fact that you are SDL Trados certified in other ways? For example on your own Web site or in correspondence with customers?

Will that help you to grow your business? It's up to you to work out whether the investment (time and money) will be worth it.