Laura Morarelli
Laura Morarelli
Italy
Local time: 15:17
English to Italian
+ ...
Aug 4, 2006

Hi everybody,

I've been working as a frelance translator since 2001, working mainly for one agency based in London, until one year ago. I actually got a job in England when I was a visiting student and I kept working via the Internet once I got back to Italy.
Duting 2006 I've contacted lots of translation agencies based in England, mainly in London and a few of them gave me some translations. I would like to try to contact agencies based in the USA, Australia, Canada. Yet I
... See more
Hi everybody,

I've been working as a frelance translator since 2001, working mainly for one agency based in London, until one year ago. I actually got a job in England when I was a visiting student and I kept working via the Internet once I got back to Italy.
Duting 2006 I've contacted lots of translation agencies based in England, mainly in London and a few of them gave me some translations. I would like to try to contact agencies based in the USA, Australia, Canada. Yet I would like to get information from people who are living in Europe and have been working for agencies based in other continents.

Regarding payments, do you usually use Paypal?

Apart from London, which is the business centre of the country, can you suggest other cities where there are a few translation agencies?

I also wanted to contact German agencies, offering English to Italian service...

Thanks a lot for your help

Laura
Collapse

Sonia Hill
Sonia Hill
United Kingdom
Local time: 14:17
Italian to English
Paypal Aug 4, 2006

Hi Laura,

In answer to your question about PayPal, I try to avoid it unless the client insists that this is the only way it will pay. I have found that PayPal fees are extremely high and the exchange rates are also unfavourable.