Rebecca Ohara
Rebecca Ohara
Sweden
Local time: 16:32
French to English
+ ...
Sep 20, 2018

Good afternoon,

I don't really know how this forum works yet, I just found out about it on a Google search I did.
I hope I'm not violating any "rules" by opening a new post here.

I'm totally new to subtitling, I've been studying it at home and been trained by a friend who has been doing this for 15 years.
I applied to work with Sfera Studios to get some first experience, and took their tests.
... See more
Good afternoon,

I don't really know how this forum works yet, I just found out about it on a Google search I did.
I hope I'm not violating any "rules" by opening a new post here.

I'm totally new to subtitling, I've been studying it at home and been trained by a friend who has been doing this for 15 years.
I applied to work with Sfera Studios to get some first experience, and took their tests. There are 4 different tests: 3 multiple choice tests and 1 short video to translate and subtitle.

I took the test twice and got a second failure mail today.
The thing is... they don't give any type of feedback so I don't know where it went wrong, really.
I now have to wait 20 days before taking the test again.

I translated it from English to French and used the Netflix guidelines (42 characters per line, line breaks, etc.) but maybe I did it wrong?
Am I supposed to break lines or should I just type the translation as it is? The test doesn't mention anything about it...

So I thought maybe one of you had to go through this test too and figured out how it works?

Any help would be really appreciated... I'm very puzzled by all this.

Thank you!

[Edited at 2018-09-21 08:39 GMT]
Collapse

José Henrique Lamensdorf
José Henrique Lamensdorf  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 12:32
English to Portuguese
+ ...
In memoriam
Don't worry! Sep 20, 2018

There is enough data to point towards many subtitling tests around being flawed.