Alessandra Meregaglia  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 22:01
Member (2012)
English to Italian
+ ...
Oct 17, 2017

Hi everybody!

I've been using PayPal in order to receive payments for many years now. I've been asked to opt for Payoneer instead but I cannot see its convenience. I hate PayPal but I wouldn't change for an even worse method. I am not interested in having a new credit card (I already have my local bank account and its credit/debit cards) but only in saving money in transactions. How about your thoughts?

Thank you!

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 21:01
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
It's inconvenient to lose clients :) Oct 17, 2017

Alessandra Meregaglia wrote:
I've been using PayPal in order to receive payments for many years now. I've been asked to opt for Payoneer instead but I cannot see its convenience. I hate PayPal but I wouldn't change for an even worse method.

I imagine this is just for one client, isn't it? Do you have the option of staying with PayPal, or is it a case of switching to Payoneer for this one client, or losing their custom. I set up an account with Skrill for one client in the Middle East who was having trouble paying (US sanctions were blocking other methods). I have used Skrill for a couple of other clients over the years, but most of the time it sits there with a few euros in it, unused. In fact, I don't often use PayPal as I vastly prefer wire transfers, but clients in places like Hong Kong and the US would be hit with very high bank charges at their end, so I agree on PayPal for them. I've never looked into Payoneer.

In short, I think the convenience is more for your client. You need to consider whether any potential inconvenience to you is worth it. If it keeps this client ordering work from you, then maybe it is.

Georgi Kovachev
Georgi Kovachev  Identity Verified
Bulgaria
Local time: 23:01
Member (2010)
English to Bulgarian
+ ...
TransferWise Oct 17, 2017

Hi Alessandra,